The New Normal

Over the weekend I had an experience which was basically an excerpt from Anjelah Johnson’s nail salon comedy routine. It started as innocently as me dropping by our local nail salon to pick my mum up after her appointment and it ended in a judgemental interrogation as to why I “no have boyfriend.”

Now usually I am pretty tolerant of the questions asked and will smile and say “no I don’t have any news” (because asking if I have any news is the staff’s ‘polite’ way of asking if I am in a relationship), but this time the judgement was so rude and blatant it took all I could muster to simply reply “no news” tight-lipped and then look down at my phone where I was busy hunting Pokemon….because priorities!

The reason why it bothered me so much this time is that it had come off of the back of some ignorant comments made by other people and so I had hit my limit.

I think the one comment that took the cake in this series of judgey quips about my single status was “well she must be a lesbian.”
Imagine my face as this emoji here ccbf360599cfe1cdfe5b82b8b0e4f7eb

When I heard that gem I didn’t know whether to laugh at how obtuse the person was or whether to be angry that they could be so misinformed and completely ignorant, especially since a persons sexuality shouldn’t even be a factor or considered an issue.

But when it comes to people like that, there is no point trying to reason with them or their way of thinking because if you tried to explain that there are more factors at play than just pointing at someone, claiming MINE and viola! no longer single, they still wouldn’t get it.

I have friends in the same boat and let me put it this way, there are a list of reasons why we haven’t found ‘the one’ and some of them are:

  • Not settling for just anyone or anything
  • Having standards
  • Work/Life balance is out of whack
  • Having your guard up after being hurt before
  • Having responsibilities which outweigh the pursuit of a partner
  • It’s just not the right time
  • You are just happy living your life

I know for me it’s hard enough finding friends these days who can accept and understand that sometimes a person has responsibilities which means not dropping everything to do what their friends want or expect, so can you imagine how hard it is to try to find a guy mature enough to acknowledge and accept that also.

The majority of my time is split between work and helping care for my grandfather. Because that doesn’t fit the expectations of others and what they want, often this leads to people distancing themselves and it probably doesn’t help that I can’t be bothered explaining myself anymore because there’s only so many times you can reassure a person of a situation that isn’t in your control. I’ve accepted that some people find it easier to walk away and in turn I value the people in my life who do understand and realise that sometimes we sacrifice the things we want for the good of others….because we aren’t always dealt the hand we want.

So to the judgemental f*ckers out there who think there is something wrong with single folk and feel the need to hound them, just because someone doesn’t fit into societies preconceived notions of what is normal, that doesn’t mean anything is out of order.
Nobodies timeline has to fit anyone else’s expectations, not even the persons own.
What is meant to be will be.
No amount of pushing, questioning or wishing can change things if it’s not the right time.

A relationship status doesn’t define a person and not having a significant other doesn’t mean you are without. A single person is not without because they have themselves and that is the best cheer squad you could ask for.

xoxo Natalie

Leave a Reply

